Medical Property


Medical Property encompasses both health and social care, private and public sector

Category Services Description

NHS Health Services

NHS Hospital & Intermediate/Community Services

This includes acute hospitals (covering emergency and planned care), specialist NHS hospitals and community hospitals, and buildings occupied by mental health trusts, care trusts, primary care trusts (PCTs) and ambulance trusts.

Primary Care & New Services

This includes General Practitioner medical centres, primary care resource centres, NHS walk-in centres, dental premises, and community pharmacies.

Independent/Private Health Services

Independent Acute Medical/Surgical Hospitals

This includes independent hospitals, independent sector treatment centres, and independent mental health hospitals/specialist dependency clinics.

Elderly Care

Long-Term Care Homes for the Elderly

This includes care services for the elderly, and physically disabled in care homes, nursing homes, respite homes, and domiciliary care.

Assisted Living

This includes ‘Extra Care’ and care villages for older people and supported living for learning disabled and mentally ill people.

Special Educational & Children’s Care

Care Services for Learning Disabled & Mentally Ill People & other Specialist Providers

This includes care services for the learning disabled and mentally ill people in both public sector and independent sector run homes.


Children’s Homes & Special Schools

This includes buildings providing specialist care for children with learning, social, or inter-relational difficulties.



Research & Development Establishments

This includes buildings used for healthcare research, laboratories, and development testing.